Read The Whirlpool by Jane Urquhart Free Online

Ebook The Whirlpool by Jane Urquhart read! Book Title: The Whirlpool
The author of the book: Jane Urquhart
Edition: New Canadian Library
The size of the: 1.47 MB
City - Country: No data
Date of issue: May 21st 2002
ISBN: 0771034768
ISBN 13: 9780771034763
Language: English
Format files: PDF
Loaded: 2111 times
Reader ratings: 5.6

Read full description of the books:

Written in luminous prose, The Whirlpool is a haunting tale set in Niagara Falls, Ontario, in the summer of 1889. This is the season of reckless river stunts, a time when the undertaker’s widow is busy with funerals, her days shadowed by her young son’s curious silence. Across the street in Kick’s Hotel, where Fleda and her husband, David McDougal, have temporary rooms, Fleda dreams of the place above the whirlpool where she first encountered the poet, a man who enters her life and, unwittingly, changes everything. As the summer progresses, the lives of these characters become entangled, and darker, more sinister currents gain momentum.

The Whirlpool, Jane Urquhart’s first novel, received Le prix du meilleur livre étranger (Best Foreign Book Award) in France and marked the brilliant debut of a major voice in Canadian fiction.

From the Trade Paperback edition.

Download The Whirlpool PDF The Whirlpool PDF
Download The Whirlpool ERUB The Whirlpool PDF
Download The Whirlpool DOC The Whirlpool PDF
Download The Whirlpool TXT The Whirlpool PDF

Read information about the author

Ebook The Whirlpool read Online! She is the author of seven internationally acclaimed novels entitled, The Whirlpool, Changing Heaven, Away, The Underpainter, The Stone Carvers, A Map of Glass, and Sanctuary Line.

The Whirlpool received the French Prix du Meilleur Livre Étranger (Best Foreign Book Award). Away was winner of the Trillium Book Award and a finalist for the prestigious International IMPAC Dublin Literary Award. The Underpainter won the Governor General's Award for English-language fiction and was a finalist for the Rogers Writers' Trust Fiction Prize.

The Stone Carvers was a finalist for the Giller Prize and the Governor General's Award, and was longlisted for the Booker Prize. A Map of Glass was a finalist for a regional Commonwealth Writers' Prize for Best Book.

She is also the author of a collection of short fiction, Storm Glass, and four books of poetry, I Am Walking in the Garden of His Imaginary Palace, False Shuffles, The Little Flowers of Madame de Montespan, and Some Other Garden. Her work has been translated into numerous foreign languages.
Urquhart has received the Marian Engel Award, Calgary's Bob Edwards Award and the Harbourfront Festival Prize, and is a Chevalier dans l’Ordre des Arts et des Lettres in France. In 2005 she was named an Officer of the Order of Canada.
Recently, she was named the 2007 Banff Distinguished Writer.

Urquhart has received numerous honorary doctorates from Canadian universities and has been writer-in-residence at the University of Ottawa and at Memorial University of Newfoundland, the University of Toronto, and the University of Guelph.

She has also given readings and lectures in Canada, Britain, Europe, the U.S.A., and Australia.
In 2007 she edited and published The Penguin Book of Canadian Short Stories, and in 2009 she published a biography of

Lucy Maud Montgomery as part of Penguin’s “Extraordinary Canadians” series.

Urquhart lives in Northumberland County, Ontario, Canada, and occasionally in Ireland.

Reviews of the The Whirlpool


When you regret the book ends!


Not when you can say the book is better.


Why do you need to write a phone?


Why are you asking for a phone number?


Total disappointment

Add a comment

Download EBOOK The Whirlpool by Jane Urquhart Online free

PDF: the-whirlpool.pdf The Whirlpool PDF
ERUB: the-whirlpool.epub The Whirlpool ERUB
DOC: the-whirlpool.doc The Whirlpool DOC
TXT: the-whirlpool.txt The Whirlpool TXT