Read Daylight On Iron Mountain by David Wingrove Free Online

Ebook Daylight On Iron Mountain by David Wingrove read! Book Title: Daylight On Iron Mountain
The author of the book: David Wingrove
Edition: Atlantic Books, Ltd.
The size of the: 17.24 MB
City - Country: No data
Date of issue: October 28th 2011
ISBN: 0857894323
ISBN 13: 9780857894328
Language: English
Format files: PDF
Loaded: 1728 times
Reader ratings: 4.6

Read full description of the books:

And so to Book Two of this revised series.

At the end of Book One, Son of Heaven, our hero, Jake Reed and his friends and family, were being whisked away by the Chinese General Jiang Lei, following the subjugation of the Corfe Castle area.

Whereas the first book concentrated on Reed and the events in England, here, two years later, we are in China. Beginning in Summer 2067, the tale this time around is not only involving Jake and his family but is mainly from the Chinese perspective. We deal with the Emperor Tsao Ch’un and his Generals, as well as the group of advisors known as ‘The Seven’.

Whilst the story focuses on the perspectives of a number of key characters, it is the often brief yet cumulative comments that create a wider picture. Japan has already been destroyed through nuclear weapons, and the Middle East does so here in a matter of sentences, refusing to disavow their religion. Other hints are made along the way: people of a coloured heritage are ruthlessly killed, people with disabilities also. The United States, broken into a group of splintered kingdoms, spend their time fighting amongst themselves until it is too late and they are unable to save themselves from the Chinese invasion, led by General Jiang Lei.

Whilst moving things along in the series on a global scale, this book is where we start to come to grips with the complex politics of the Chinese themselves. Strangely, but effectively, most of the global actions take place off stage, so to speak. We are told of the plans for the invasion but do not experience it directly. The fighting in the US, which was no doubt bitter, is told to us through the conversation made between General Jiang Lei and his mysterious co-worker strategist Amos Shepherd whilst playing the game of Go.

Of the other characters met in Book One, we find that life has also changed. Jake Reed finds himself being employed by SynGen who are trying to use his old skills in the DatScape for new means of global domination, this time in genetics and medicine. Jake’s son, Peter, now an adult, becomes involved in developing sciences for the company. The older Reed finds it difficult to adjust to the new regime whilst, tellingly, Reed the younger accepts it as something that has to be. As Jake has it pointed out to him, every day, through the natural order of things, the older people who are resistant to the new way of life are dying and being replaced by new people being born who know nothing else but the new way. The Chinese are playing the long game and are clearly winning.

This is not without difficulties. Jake is forced to go to court to maintain his pension and ends up confronting a seemingly unbeatable Chinese opposition that thinks of murder and extortion as a valid means of winning court battles. The world of the non-Chinese, the Han, is increasingly of less value.

It is here that we start to see the means by which the Chinese exert and maintain their power on a range of scales, from local politics to global domination, something which will develop more in future books. The actions taken to ensure power are dramatic and quite merciless. The author thinks nothing of killing and torturing characters to serve these means, which reflects the point that although there is a highly sophisticated social structure in this New World Order, the means of maintaining the structure are as brutal as ever.

The final section of the book, concerning an attempted coup, is both exciting and horrifying. The psychopathic Son of Heaven attempts to kill off The Seven, who have become increasingly concerned about his erratic behaviour. The actions taken on both sides are extremely merciless and very nasty. Families, friends and retainers are assassinated and slaughtered as the men of power manoeuvre for position. The ending is not quite what you expect, though it is clearly going to lead to some very interesting developments in future stories.

I did have some issues with the first book, much as I enjoyed it. I’m pleased to say that Daylight is a much more consistent and enjoyable novel for me. The experiences of Chinese society and culture continue to make a refreshing change. The complexities of court are reminiscent of The Godfather or even George RR Martin’s Game of Thrones series (though this has always been a feature of the Chung Kuo books, even twenty years or so ago.) It has reminded me why I liked the original series so much. Daylight on Iron Mountain shows that the new series is starting to step up a gear and has become a must read series for me. You will still need to read Book One first, but this is a glorious development.

This is the second totally new part of the tale. The third book (The Middle Kingdom) is where the old series begins and one that I have read in its initial incarnation. I look forward to reading it a great deal and seeing how the new version fits in with this breathtakingly re-imagined series.

Download Daylight On Iron Mountain PDF Daylight On Iron Mountain PDF
Download Daylight On Iron Mountain ERUB Daylight On Iron Mountain PDF
Download Daylight On Iron Mountain DOC Daylight On Iron Mountain PDF
Download Daylight On Iron Mountain TXT Daylight On Iron Mountain PDF

Read information about the author

Ebook Daylight On Iron Mountain read Online! David Wingrove (born September 1954 in North Battersea, London) is a British science fiction writer. He is well-known as the author of the "Chung Kuo" novels (eight in total). He is also the co-author (with Rand and Robyn Miller) of the three "Myst" novels.

Wingrove worked in the banking industry for 7 years until he became fed up with it. He then attended the University of Kent, Canterbury, where he read English and American Literature.

He is married and, with his wife Susan, has four daughters Jessica, Amy, Georgia, and Francesca.

Between 1972 and 1982 he wrote over 300 unpublished short stories and 15 novels.

He started work on a new fictional project called A Perfect Art. Between 1984 and 1988, when it was first submitted, the title was changed twice, becoming first A Spring Day at the Edge of the World and then finally Chung Kuo, under which title it was sold to 18 publishers throughout the world.

A prequel to the Chung Kuo series, called When China Comes, was released in May 2009 by Quercus Publishing, which also re-released the entire series: "The series has been recast in nineteen volumes, including a new prequel and a new final volume. After a series launch in May 2009, Quercus will embark on an ambitious publishing programme that will see all nineteen volumes available by the end of 2012."

He has plans for a further a novels, a a first person character novel called Dawn in Stone City and three very different novels: The Beast with Two Backs, Heaven's Bright Sun, and Roads to Moscow.

Reviews of the Daylight On Iron Mountain


Watch out! Maybe a fundamental change in your life!


Contradictory. On the one hand, it pulls in and on the other ...


The book is very deep! Tip for Reading.


Phone number must be specified for robot protection I wrote the number and downloaded no problems.


When you regret the book ends!

Add a comment

Download EBOOK Daylight On Iron Mountain by David Wingrove Online free

PDF: daylight-on-iron-mountain.pdf Daylight On Iron Mountain PDF
ERUB: daylight-on-iron-mountain.epub Daylight On Iron Mountain ERUB
DOC: daylight-on-iron-mountain.doc Daylight On Iron Mountain DOC
TXT: daylight-on-iron-mountain.txt Daylight On Iron Mountain TXT